Search for at
hagadoo.com Advanced Search


 
Recent Topics   Next 8 >>  
 Forum   Author   Replies   Last Post 
Bi Weekly #7 04-01-18 3:00 pm est.-04-15-18 3:pm est DH2005 Weekly Hunt ron4560 0 Sun Apr 01, 2018 11:40 am
ron4560 View latest post
Where are you Ron. DH2005 Weekly Hunt DanthemanBoone 1 Fri May 11, 2018 9:07 pm
ron4560 View latest post
Bi Weekly #6 03-18-18 3:00 pm est.-04-01-18 3:pm est DH2005 Weekly Hunt ron4560 0 Sun Mar 18, 2018 6:50 am
ron4560 View latest post
BiWeekly #4 02-18-03-04 Results DH2005 Weekly Hunt ron4560 0 Mon Mar 05, 2018 8:35 pm
ron4560 View latest post
Bi Weekly #5 03-04-18 3:00 pm est.-03-18-18 3:pm est DH2005 Weekly Hunt ron4560 7 Mon Mar 05, 2018 8:16 pm
ron4560 View latest post
Re-installing General Talk drwhitetail 14 Sun Mar 04, 2018 3:18 pm
drwhitetail View latest post
Bi Weekly #4 02-18-18 3:00 pm est.-03-04-18 3:pm est DH2005 Weekly Hunt ron4560 2 Thu Mar 01, 2018 9:42 pm
ron4560 View latest post
BiWeekly #3 02-04-02-18 Results DH2005 Weekly Hunt ron4560 2 Mon Feb 19, 2018 10:32 am
LRHUNTER View latest post

Re-installing

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    hagadoo.com Forum Index -> General Talk
 View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
drwhitetail



Joined: Jan 10, 2012
Age: 39

Posts: 79
Location: Land of 10,000 Lakes
usa.gif


Reputation: 153.5Reputation: 153.5

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 10:23 pm Post subject: Re-installing Reply with quote

I reinstalled DH05 on my new install of Win10 and patched it using the 1.2 patch from here. I've set it to run in WinXP SP3 compatibility mode and also to run as administrator. When I click on the application to launch it, I get the spinning blue circle and then nothing. The game isn't launching at all.

I can't remember if there's something special I need to do or.... Any suggestions would be appreciated! Thanks! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DanthemanBoone
Staff
Moderator
Map Maker



Joined: Sep 26, 2009
Age: 68

Posts: 1258
Location: Rotorua New Zealand
newzealand.gif


Reputation: 292.2
votes: 8

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 5:36 am Post subject: Re: Re-installing Reply with quote

You may have to download a cd/dvd player (software) off the net as some win 10 versions do not have the cd/dvd player software as part of the operating system.
The VLC Media player by video lan is a good option.
https://www.videolan.org/vlc/index.html

A lot of new win 10 computers no longer even have a dvd player. Most modern games are now web based and movies are rented and watched online. CDs and DVDs are obsolete for most new computers.
The reason I loaded the game to a flash drive for my grandson ... is because his win10 computer does not have a Cd/Dvd player.



Did you install directly from the win 10 OS system or did you use another OS and direct it to your win 10 hard drive during the install.

Did you use a cd for the install or a download version from the net.

I suspect that your win 10 OS is not seeing your CD/DVD player.
You could try going to 'My computer" from the win 10 OS and see if the dvd player is showing, if it is try opening the files and starting the game from the dh2005 exe on the cd.


Old Hunters never die.They just sit around the campfire and tell the biggest lies.

Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
drwhitetail



Joined: Jan 10, 2012
Age: 39

Posts: 79
Location: Land of 10,000 Lakes
usa.gif


Reputation: 153.5Reputation: 153.5

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 9:51 am Post subject: Re: Re-installing Reply with quote

I wiped my drive and did a clean install of Win10. My win7 was corrupted and was giving me a lot of headaches. I backed up my profile and my custom maps and maps I was working on as well as the editor and I still had the installer from when I bought the game initially.

I'm still using my custom PC that I built a few years ago which has a dvd rom drive but I'm using the downloaded installer version. I may have to boot into my XP drive and just copy the game to a drive and then bring it over. Not sure what else to do. Mad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jimbo1952



Joined: Sep 09, 2009
Age: 66

Posts: 651
Location: Oregon
usa.gif


Reputation: 228.6

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 3:18 pm Post subject: Re: Re-installing Reply with quote

Everything I have on my computer is set to run on XP so I figured don't fix it if it's not broken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Visit Evo-Hacks Today
drwhitetail



Joined: Jan 10, 2012
Age: 39

Posts: 79
Location: Land of 10,000 Lakes
usa.gif


Reputation: 153.5Reputation: 153.5

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 7:00 pm Post subject: Re: Re-installing Reply with quote

So I found my cd copy of DH05. I've installed, updated, and added the patch. I load up the game and everything is there except the "Hunt" button in the bottom right corner. Any ideas? Thanks! Mad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drwhitetail



Joined: Jan 10, 2012
Age: 39

Posts: 79
Location: Land of 10,000 Lakes
usa.gif


Reputation: 153.5Reputation: 153.5

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2018 9:29 pm Post subject: Re: Re-installing Reply with quote

Hmm....thought maybe one of you DH05 veterans would have seen this bug and have an easy fix? Nobody has had the hunt button missing?

Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drwhitetail



Joined: Jan 10, 2012
Age: 39

Posts: 79
Location: Land of 10,000 Lakes
usa.gif


Reputation: 153.5Reputation: 153.5

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 12:31 pm Post subject: Re: Re-installing Reply with quote

Nevermind, figured out that I needed the .iso or the CD in the drive for the hunt button to show up. Now to get the map editor up and running again...

Wish there was a way to re-do all the textures and upgrade the meshes of this game and still have it run decent. I love the simplicity of the game and the free roaming. "The Hunter" seemed way over the top and just didn't have the feel this old game does. I'm assuming the Aspen engine wouldn't be able to handle higher res meshes and textures though. Just thinking out loud and replying to my own posts....  Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
REZ325
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Site Admin
Staff
Moderator



Joined: Oct 08, 2008

Posts: 2139
Location: Harrisburg, PA
usa.gif


Reputation: 370.9Reputation: 370.9
votes: 14

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 4:12 pm Post subject: Re: Re-installing Reply with quote

drwhitetail @ Sat Feb 24, 2018 12:31 pm wrote:
I'm assuming the Aspen engine wouldn't be able to handle higher res meshes and textures though. Just thinking out loud and replying to my own posts....  Laughing


There are a lot of map makers still hanging around that might chime in on that issue. I know Dan does alot of work and testing on that subject so as not to us up a lot of FPS in game when playing. He might be able to give you better guidance & info on that subject.
Have Fun!


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Visit DFG-GAMING.COM Today
DanthemanBoone
Staff
Moderator
Map Maker



Joined: Sep 26, 2009
Age: 68

Posts: 1258
Location: Rotorua New Zealand
newzealand.gif


Reputation: 292.2
votes: 8

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 4:56 pm Post subject: Re: Re-installing Reply with quote

Actually I think Jimbo would be more familiar with the limits of resolutions for custom objects and graphics than Me.

I only manipulate the render distances in relation to the number of objects, both dynamic and static in order to get the best frame speeds I can.
The limit on custom objects is tied to the amount of detail ( Polygon count ) in the j3d model but the graphic files themselves seem to have little effect on the outcome when using models without Mip maps.
That being said the distance settings for static objects and when the low res mips take over is not adjustable in game but must be set when making the models.
However with dynamic objects there is no difference in frame speeds whether you set the full opacity to min or max distances.

As far as textures go, I can take any grass rock or dirt texture from google images, resize them and apply them as jpg or png files and they will work.
The game uses stx files for objects that move, such as grass, water or trees, and they are basically gifs saved in a video format.

I have a huge library of ground textures, some that came from Semi originally and many more I have collected over the years. Anyone who might like them is welcome to contact me and I will arrange to send them.


Old Hunters never die.They just sit around the campfire and tell the biggest lies.

Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Jimbo1952



Joined: Sep 09, 2009
Age: 66

Posts: 651
Location: Oregon
usa.gif


Reputation: 228.6

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 8:25 pm Post subject: Re: Re-installing Reply with quote

Dan is right about texture, I can make the same model using different textures and the end result is the same as far as file size. If a vehicle model is 2.0 MB no matter what texture I apply it will remain 2.00 MB after exporting from 3DSMAX. It doesn't matter what size the texture file is (JPG,PNG,ETC). As far as I know different ground, water or object textures do not lower or raise FPS in game play that I have ever seen. I have recently started making my own water files to be used for making large bodies of water, instead of adding water streams I can make a lake and use a custom texture so as not to be limited to the 4 or 5 that are in the editor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drwhitetail



Joined: Jan 10, 2012
Age: 39

Posts: 79
Location: Land of 10,000 Lakes
usa.gif


Reputation: 153.5Reputation: 153.5

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:56 pm Post subject: Re: Re-installing Reply with quote

Good info. I've recently went back to playing a heavily modded Skyrim game and it got me thinking about this game. With Skyrim, the community has basically redone the entire game in modern graphics, meshes, and models. They've incorporated parallax with some of the ground and rock textures which makes things really look better in game. Of course, with Skyrim, the developers released the creation kit which has allowed people to change just about everything in the game.

I ran around and shot a few bucks yesterday and thought...man I wish this game was up to 2015 or even 2010 standards.  Very Happy

It's definitely out of my league to do it, but thought I would ask about it as you guys have spent a lot more time messing around with the map editor and the game itself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DanthemanBoone
Staff
Moderator
Map Maker



Joined: Sep 26, 2009
Age: 68

Posts: 1258
Location: Rotorua New Zealand
newzealand.gif


Reputation: 292.2
votes: 8

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 5:35 pm Post subject: Re: Re-installing Reply with quote

The thing to remember about this game is that it can still be played on a dual core with half a gig of graphics.
Sometimes even less.
Upgrading usually means more computer resources are needed to run the game.

If you want intensive graphics you can load your maps up with dynamic objects for greater detail and those with a computer that can handle it can get a great graphics experience on ultra settings while those with older systems can still run the map on lower settings.

Take a look at this map as an example.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B2Gy9yYp7Vv8ZXpZd3ZjN1paZVk

Most of the original stock maps were built with very short view distances, around 250 yards, but today most of our maps are set at 400 yards which is the max distance the rifles are profiled to shoot, with the exception of the 205 which will shoot to 500 yrds.

The Hunter classic has a render range of 220 yrds but dh2005 can be set right out to 650 yards, its just that doing that will cause a major deficit in frame speeds unless its a desert environment with lots of sand and very little vegetation.

We also have a huge library of custom models now, that Jimbo, Gas, ABslayer and Kentmaple have contributed to.
Given all this I think it is possible to build maps that are far more immersive than anything that was possible when Dh2005 was first released.

So fire up your Editor, load in the hybrid patch (if you haven't already) and if you have the extra character bug in the editor , rip out any apple software you have in your O.S.

Anything is possible.


Old Hunters never die.They just sit around the campfire and tell the biggest lies.

Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Visit Evo-Hacks Today
drwhitetail



Joined: Jan 10, 2012
Age: 39

Posts: 79
Location: Land of 10,000 Lakes
usa.gif


Reputation: 153.5Reputation: 153.5

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 7:29 pm Post subject: Re: Re-installing Reply with quote

I'm sure things are locked away, but it would be nice to be able to re-texture the deer and animals with better fur for example, or re-texture the rifles so they look like rifles when pulling them. I'll get the editor going again here soon, I'll have a little more time when hockey season is over.  Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DanthemanBoone
Staff
Moderator
Map Maker



Joined: Sep 26, 2009
Age: 68

Posts: 1258
Location: Rotorua New Zealand
newzealand.gif


Reputation: 292.2
votes: 8

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 11:17 pm Post subject: Re: Re-installing Reply with quote

There is a tutorial somewhere about how to make custom skins for the weapons.
Maybe Rez could direct you to that one.


Old Hunters never die.They just sit around the campfire and tell the biggest lies.

Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
drwhitetail



Joined: Jan 10, 2012
Age: 39

Posts: 79
Location: Land of 10,000 Lakes
usa.gif


Reputation: 153.5Reputation: 153.5

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2018 3:18 pm Post subject: Re: Re-installing Reply with quote

I saw that was an option, but was thinking more a long of the lines of re-texturing the characters, making the guns look like they have metal parts, and making the creatures look better. But, that stuff is all locked away in the .spk file. I understand editing things would break the tournament rules here, but was more thinking about just for personal use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic  Reply to topic   printer-friendly view hagadoo.com Forum Index ->  General Talk All times are UTC - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1


 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum




Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2006 phpBB Group

DFG-Hunter Theme by DarkForge Graphics LLC ©
Forums ©

Spambot Killer
Site Map

[News Feed] [Forums Feed] [Downloads Feed] [Web Links Feed] Powered by HTML Purifier[Validate robots.txt]

WWW.HAGADOO.COM

PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2006 by Francisco Burzi.
All logos, trademarks and posts in this site are property of their respective owners, all the rest © 2006 by the site owner.
Powered by Nuke-Evolution.

This site is cached. Click here to update the cache.
[ Page Generation: 6048 Seconds | Memory Usage: 8.95 MB | DB Queries: 105 ]

Do Not Click