Search for at
hagadoo.com Advanced Search


 
Recent Topics   Next 8 >>  
 Forum   Author   Replies   Last Post 
Biweekly # 20 10-8 -10-22 2:pm est. -10-22 1pm est. DH2005 Weekly Hunt ron4560 0 Sun Oct 08, 2017 12:54 pm
ron4560 View latest post
Biweekly #19 09-24 - 10-08 Results DH2005 Weekly Hunt ron4560 0 Sun Oct 08, 2017 6:51 pm
ron4560 View latest post
Back after 8 Years Introduce yourself MarkGS 4 Sat Oct 07, 2017 2:55 am
MarkGS View latest post
Hunt #18 Results 9-10 -9-24 DH2005 Weekly Hunt ron4560 1 Sun Sep 24, 2017 5:24 pm
REZ325 View latest post
BiWeekly Hunt # 19 9-24 -10-08 2:00pm est. -10-08 1:00pm est DH2005 Weekly Hunt ron4560 2 Sun Sep 24, 2017 4:36 pm
ron4560 View latest post
Moving House. General Talk DanthemanBoone 5 Wed Sep 20, 2017 11:34 am
Jimbo1952 View latest post
Hunt #17 Results 8-27 - 9-10 DH2005 Weekly Hunt ron4560 0 Sun Sep 10, 2017 5:28 pm
ron4560 View latest post
Hunt # 18 9-10 2pm est - 9-24 est. DH2005 Weekly Hunt ron4560 0 Sun Sep 10, 2017 11:25 am
ron4560 View latest post

Max FPS on DH05
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    hagadoo.com Forum Index -> General Talk
 View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Vic
Staff



Joined: Nov 15, 2009
Age: 40

Posts: 934
Location: Danville,VA
usa.gif


Reputation: 226

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 3:53 pm Post subject: Max FPS on DH05 Reply with quote

is there a max Frames Per Second on the game????


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in

Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger MySpace Profile: http://www.myspace.com/Grrrrlacher
REZ325
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Site Admin
Staff
Moderator



Joined: Oct 08, 2008

Posts: 2126
Location: Harrisburg, PA
usa.gif


Reputation: 360.1Reputation: 360.1
votes: 14

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 4:42 pm Post subject: Re: Max FPS on DH05 Reply with quote

I believe for DH2005 its 87, and for DH2004 its 125, But I am not absolutely sure on the info Smile


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Vic
Staff



Joined: Nov 15, 2009
Age: 40

Posts: 934
Location: Danville,VA
usa.gif


Reputation: 226

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 5:04 pm Post subject: Re: Max FPS on DH05 Reply with quote

ok thx


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in

Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger MySpace Profile: http://www.myspace.com/Grrrrlacher
TKSniper
Staff
Site Admin



Joined: Oct 08, 2008

Posts: 219

blank.gif


Reputation: 89.5Reputation: 89.5

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 5:49 pm Post subject: Re: Max FPS on DH05 Reply with quote

DH 05 can't get any more FPS than what the Monitor refresh rate is. DH 04 can pass that number, but that results in allot of duplicate frames being rendered.


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in

BIG GAME LODGE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Visit DFG-GAMING.COM Today
REZ325
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Site Admin
Staff
Moderator



Joined: Oct 08, 2008

Posts: 2126
Location: Harrisburg, PA
usa.gif


Reputation: 360.1Reputation: 360.1
votes: 14

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 6:02 pm Post subject: Re: Max FPS on DH05 Reply with quote

TKSniper @ Tue Nov 24, 2009 6:49 pm wrote:
DH 05 can't get any more FPS than what the Monitor refresh rate is. DH 04 can pass that number, but that results in allot of duplicate frames being rendered.


Please explain what the monitor has to do with it? I always thought it was your video card that determined frame rate


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Vic
Staff



Joined: Nov 15, 2009
Age: 40

Posts: 934
Location: Danville,VA
usa.gif


Reputation: 226

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:43 pm Post subject: Re: Max FPS on DH05 Reply with quote

same here I thought the vid card had everything to do with it,, let me check my moniter settings lol and see if it changes my fps!


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in

Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger MySpace Profile: http://www.myspace.com/Grrrrlacher
TKSniper
Staff
Site Admin



Joined: Oct 08, 2008

Posts: 219

blank.gif


Reputation: 89.5Reputation: 89.5

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 10:38 pm Post subject: Re: Max FPS on DH05 Reply with quote

DH 05 is too old to have proper support for newer video cards. I have played it on 3 different computers that have been able to push newer games beyond 100fps. My grfx card should be able to push that game past 100 fps on a CRT monitor but only matches the refresh rate. It maxs at 85htz. Same computer with a 24" LCD is getting getting 60 fps with most games new or old. 60 is the max refresh rate on the LCD. I still haven't quite figured that one out. Anyway, it's not at all important that a grfx card render faster than the monitor refresh rate.

My current grfx card is Nvidia GTS250. The previous card was a 9600GT. They both performed the same with a CRT monitor. 85htz refresh, 85 fps.

Make a short movie of any game rendering more  than 70 fps. You will see what I mean about duplicate frames if you watch it in very slow motion 1 frame at a time.


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in

BIG GAME LODGE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gas56
Map Maker



Joined: Oct 09, 2008

Posts: 102
Location: Ohio USA
usa.gif


Reputation: 204.9

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:02 am Post subject: Re: Max FPS on DH05 Reply with quote

A small tidbit for FPS and DH2005........I run a clocks program on my computer (there r many to use) and have noticed 1 thing that produces faster Frame Rate and that is the map itself.  Even with newer faster machines the map with a high objects setting,  especially dynamic objects distance settings will slow down FPS on DH2005.
    Example.........    when using the map editor and the map is blank or at the start of making it the frame rate soars over 250 FPS.   but as the map is made and the objects r placed into the map it starts to slow down.   I  generally try to set dynamic object distance settings far to make the map look better, but when the FPS clocks start to run below 30-40,   I know I have to adjust some of the Dynamic Object distance settings not too far and gradually pull the FPS back up to around 50 or above to have a good map.  I didn't use to do this and I would get a laggy map.   All maps r made differently even if custom or original.   Maps with little objects will run at a high rate.   Maps with too much objects will run at a low rate.   To say the obvious u want a map in the middle so it looks and plays good.   This is just my opinion about this subject!
                                                                                                                Have Fun!           GAS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Visit Evo-Install Today
DanthemanBoone
Staff
Moderator
Map Maker



Joined: Sep 26, 2009
Age: 68

Posts: 1233
Location: Rotorua New Zealand
newzealand.gif


Reputation: 276.1
votes: 8

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 7:38 pm Post subject: Re: Max FPS on DH05 Reply with quote

I have issues with Fps. Frame rates all the time. I have found that some objects or even ground textures gobble up
frame rates more than others, so sometimes I swap textures to see which one is going to be less demanding.It can make a difference of up to 10fps and every little bit helps.
Also cutting back on veiw distance, eg 2.25 as verses 2.5  can give a couple of Fps more.
Like every thing in life you have to look for compromises if you have to work with anything less than top end equipment.
Wish I could get something like the frame speeds mentioned here. :(

POST SCRIPT
After reading and posting on this thread I went into my computor settings, (VISTA) and changed my perfomance settings from "LET THE  COMPUTOR CHOOSE" to "PERFORMANCE"
My FPS rate at the lodge screen has leapt from 51 FPS to 84 FPS and there is a marked impovement in the map performance as well Embarassed


Old Hunters never die.They just sit around the campfire and tell the biggest lies.

Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
REZ325
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Site Admin
Staff
Moderator



Joined: Oct 08, 2008

Posts: 2126
Location: Harrisburg, PA
usa.gif


Reputation: 360.1Reputation: 360.1
votes: 14

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 1:26 pm Post subject: Re: Max FPS on DH05 Reply with quote

OK, I would like to continue this conversation. When I bought my 23" LCD LG monitor, it had a 2ms refresh time. I was told, the lower the number, the better the performance. TK, when you used the word refresh, you said 60hz (my monitor is 60hz also) so I am a little confused on what you are saying about this? Confused I did see on TV today of a big screen TV with a 120hz setting, needless to say, I still don't understand, sorry.


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Vic
Staff



Joined: Nov 15, 2009
Age: 40

Posts: 934
Location: Danville,VA
usa.gif


Reputation: 226

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 8:35 pm Post subject: Re: Max FPS on DH05 Reply with quote

WOW!! I put my settings on for best perfomance and with my sorry onboard nvidia card now I can hunt on ultra and get between 30 to 40 fps!!!!! ofcourse I had to put water reflection on low but that makes no diff


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in

Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger MySpace Profile: http://www.myspace.com/Grrrrlacher
TKSniper
Staff
Site Admin



Joined: Oct 08, 2008

Posts: 219

blank.gif


Reputation: 89.5Reputation: 89.5

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 11:20 pm Post subject: Re: Max FPS on DH05 Reply with quote

REZ325 @ Thu Nov 26, 2009 6:22 pm wrote:
OK, I would like to continue this conversation. When I bought my 23" LCD LG monitor, it had a 2ms refresh time. I was told, the lower the number, the better the performance. TK, when you used the word refresh, you said 60hz (my monitor is 60hz also) so I am a little confused on what you are saying about this? Confused I did see on TV today of a big screen TV with a 120hz setting, needless to say, I still don't understand, sorry.

The 2ms is the response time from Grey to Grey after it goes thru the R G B channels. Faster is better to keep the image from blurring and smearing so to speak. Refresh rate is the rate in which a pixel renews the color that is supposed to be there to keep the picture all in sync with the input signal. They actually do fade. You can see them flicker at less than 65Htz with the naked eye.


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in

BIG GAME LODGE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Visit DFG-GAMING.COM Today
REZ325
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Site Admin
Staff
Moderator



Joined: Oct 08, 2008

Posts: 2126
Location: Harrisburg, PA
usa.gif


Reputation: 360.1Reputation: 360.1
votes: 14

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 11:31 am Post subject: Re: Max FPS on DH05 Reply with quote

TKSniper @ Fri Nov 27, 2009 12:20 am wrote:
REZ325 @ Thu Nov 26, 2009 6:22 pm wrote:
OK, I would like to continue this conversation. When I bought my 23" LCD LG monitor, it had a 2ms refresh time. I was told, the lower the number, the better the performance. TK, when you used the word refresh, you said 60hz (my monitor is 60hz also) so I am a little confused on what you are saying about this? Confused I did see on TV today of a big screen TV with a 120hz setting, needless to say, I still don't understand, sorry.

The 2ms is the response time from Grey to Grey after it goes thru the R G B channels. Faster is better to keep the image from blurring and smearing so to speak. Refresh rate is the rate in which a pixel renews the color that is supposed to be there to keep the picture all in sync with the input signal. They actually do fade. You can see them flicker at less than 65Htz with the naked eye.


Thanks for your reply TK. My monitor has only 2 setting, 59, & 60hz, crap I never knew this Surprised Maybe I'll go X-Mas shopping again, LOL!


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Geter



Joined: Nov 17, 2008

Posts: 318

usa.gif


Reputation: 129.1

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 12:00 pm Post subject: Re: Max FPS on DH05 Reply with quote

TKSniper @ Tue Nov 24, 2009 11:38 pm wrote:
DH 05 is too old to have proper support for newer video cards. I have played it on 3 different computers that have been able to push newer games beyond 100fps. My grfx card should be able to push that game past 100 fps on a CRT monitor but only matches the refresh rate. It maxs at 85htz. Same computer with a 24" LCD is getting getting 60 fps with most games new or old. 60 is the max refresh rate on the LCD. I still haven't quite figured that one out. Anyway, it's not at all important that a grfx card render faster than the monitor refresh rate.

My current grfx card is Nvidia GTS250. The previous card was a 9600GT. They both performed the same with a CRT monitor. 85htz refresh, 85 fps.

Make a short movie of any game rendering more  than 70 fps. You will see what I mean about duplicate frames if you watch it in very slow motion 1 frame at a time.


How many fps do you get on main menu on DH2005, with your graphics card?


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in

Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
TKSniper
Staff
Site Admin



Joined: Oct 08, 2008

Posts: 219

blank.gif


Reputation: 89.5Reputation: 89.5

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 12:00 pm Post subject: Re: Max FPS on DH05 Reply with quote

That's all mine has. Good luck with finding something faster. 59-60 is common and 120 is still very new and not being done by allot of monitor makers.


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in

BIG GAME LODGE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic  Reply to topic   printer-friendly view hagadoo.com Forum Index ->  General Talk All times are UTC - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2


 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum




Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2006 phpBB Group

DFG-Hunter Theme by DarkForge Graphics LLC ©
Forums ©

Spambot Killer
Site Map

[News Feed] [Forums Feed] [Downloads Feed] [Web Links Feed] Powered by HTML Purifier[Validate robots.txt]

WWW.HAGADOO.COM

PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2006 by Francisco Burzi.
All logos, trademarks and posts in this site are property of their respective owners, all the rest © 2006 by the site owner.
Powered by Nuke-Evolution.

This site is cached. Click here to update the cache.
[ Page Generation: 6048 Seconds | Memory Usage: 8.99 MB | DB Queries: 103 ]

Do Not Click