Search for at
hagadoo.com Advanced Search


 
Recent Topics   Next 8 >>  
 Forum   Author   Replies   Last Post 
Biweekly # 20 10-8 -10-22 2:pm est. -10-22 1pm est. DH2005 Weekly Hunt ron4560 0 Sun Oct 08, 2017 12:54 pm
ron4560 View latest post
Biweekly #19 09-24 - 10-08 Results DH2005 Weekly Hunt ron4560 0 Sun Oct 08, 2017 6:51 pm
ron4560 View latest post
Back after 8 Years Introduce yourself MarkGS 4 Sat Oct 07, 2017 2:55 am
MarkGS View latest post
Hunt #18 Results 9-10 -9-24 DH2005 Weekly Hunt ron4560 1 Sun Sep 24, 2017 5:24 pm
REZ325 View latest post
BiWeekly Hunt # 19 9-24 -10-08 2:00pm est. -10-08 1:00pm est DH2005 Weekly Hunt ron4560 2 Sun Sep 24, 2017 4:36 pm
ron4560 View latest post
Moving House. General Talk DanthemanBoone 5 Wed Sep 20, 2017 11:34 am
Jimbo1952 View latest post
Hunt #17 Results 8-27 - 9-10 DH2005 Weekly Hunt ron4560 0 Sun Sep 10, 2017 5:28 pm
ron4560 View latest post
Hunt # 18 9-10 2pm est - 9-24 est. DH2005 Weekly Hunt ron4560 0 Sun Sep 10, 2017 11:25 am
ron4560 View latest post

Does anyone know why?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    hagadoo.com Forum Index -> Questions about computer problems
 View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
REZ325
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Site Admin
Staff
Moderator



Joined: Oct 08, 2008

Posts: 2126
Location: Harrisburg, PA
usa.gif


Reputation: 360.1Reputation: 360.1
votes: 14

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 3:32 pm Post subject: Does anyone know why? Reply with quote

As you know last week I spent most of my time transferring stuff from my old PC to my new one. I noticed that things don't show the way they used to on my old PC. Here's and example, could someone please explain why? The maps in my custom folder always showed as the red circle with a triangle inside it, now they just show as this page looking things, it drives me crazy and just trying to figure out how to change the view or look of it?

Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Jesse James



Joined: Nov 10, 2008

Posts: 123

usa.gif


Reputation: 20Reputation: 20
votes: 2

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 3:52 pm Post subject: Re: Does anyone know why? Reply with quote

Uninstall the dh2005 game and reinstall it.


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in

Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in

Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
REZ325
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Site Admin
Staff
Moderator



Joined: Oct 08, 2008

Posts: 2126
Location: Harrisburg, PA
usa.gif


Reputation: 360.1Reputation: 360.1
votes: 14

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:00 pm Post subject: Re: Does anyone know why? Reply with quote

Jesse James @ Tue Jun 30, 2009 4:52 pm wrote:
Uninstall the dh2005 game and reinstall it.



My PC has the downloaded version from the internet. When I bought it, I was licensed to renew it  3 times. When I put it on my new PC, it was my third use, any other recommendations?


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Jesse James



Joined: Nov 10, 2008

Posts: 123

usa.gif


Reputation: 20Reputation: 20
votes: 2

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:17 pm Post subject: Re: Does anyone know why? Reply with quote

You may have a worm called "Yieldmaster" which could do the same thing to change the icons. Do a search of folders and files to see if it comes up, if it does, you will have to delete them manually by dragging and dropping to the desktop then delete them. You can not delete them from the search window. If you do not have the worm, then you will have to buy a disk off EBay.


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in

Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in

Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Visit DFG-GAMING.COM Today
Magnum1973



Joined: Oct 08, 2008

Posts: 934

usa.gif


Reputation: 245.4
votes: 2

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 7:37 pm Post subject: Re: Does anyone know why? Reply with quote

Ray don't worry about it.  I have had that happen with installs on different computers.  I don't know why it does that but it is nothing bad.  It does it on the computer that I am on now but didn't do it with the other one.  I will try to remember how to fix it and let you know.


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in

Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TKSniper
Staff
Site Admin



Joined: Oct 08, 2008

Posts: 219

blank.gif


Reputation: 89.5Reputation: 89.5

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 8:30 pm Post subject: Re: Does anyone know why? Reply with quote

It's nothing to worry abt, as long as the game is still working.
2 things will fix it though.
1 Reinstall the game.
2 rt click the file then Properties. There is a button that says "Change" to the right of the words "opens with" navigate to the install directory and click the exe file for the game or the editor.

Note. DO NOT attempt to open the files thru the directory. This only changes the icon and will force the program selected  to try to open the files.  There really isn't a need to fix it unless it's really driving ya nutz.
The safest way to do it is reinstall the game. Mine did the same thing when I moved the directory from another hard drive.  Razz


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in

BIG GAME LODGE


Last edited by TKSniper on Tue Jun 30, 2009 9:06 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
REZ325
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Site Admin
Staff
Moderator



Joined: Oct 08, 2008

Posts: 2126
Location: Harrisburg, PA
usa.gif


Reputation: 360.1Reputation: 360.1
votes: 14

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 9:06 pm Post subject: Re: Does anyone know why? Reply with quote

OK, I have the downloaded version, can I repair the program with the disk, or must I totally re-install?


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Magnum1973



Joined: Oct 08, 2008

Posts: 934

usa.gif


Reputation: 245.4
votes: 2

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 9:08 pm Post subject: Re: Does anyone know why? Reply with quote

Ray,
4 words for you  Don't Worry About It.  You have more pressing issues like helping dk with the team hunt. lol


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in

Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Visit DarkForge Graphics.com Today
TKSniper
Staff
Site Admin



Joined: Oct 08, 2008

Posts: 219

blank.gif


Reputation: 89.5Reputation: 89.5

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 3:23 am Post subject: Re: Does anyone know why? Reply with quote

Jesse James @ Tue Jun 30, 2009 10:12 pm wrote:
You may have a worm called "Yieldmaster" which could do the same thing to change the icons. Do a search of folders and files to see if it comes up, if it does, you will have to delete them manually by dragging and dropping to the desktop then delete them. You can not delete them from the search window. If you do not have the worm, then you will have to buy a disk off EBay.

What happened there was not caused by a worm or any virus. It happened because he moved his Atari directory from another Har Drive to the one he is using now. I had the same thing happen to me. I have so many mods done to both DH 05 and 04, it is easier to just move the folders than it is to reintall all  of it. The file assosiation links break when that is done. It doesn't break the game in any way.  Another thing comes to mind. Run the  editor. Ihen close it. It should tell you the spk extention is not assosiated with level editor and will ask if you would like to have them assocated.

Are ya going bonkers yet, Ray?  :P

Eh nvm, that is asking if you want to assosiate the *.ter extention...


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in

BIG GAME LODGE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DeerKillers



Joined: Oct 09, 2008

Posts: 703
Location: Italy
italy.gif


Reputation: 133.5
votes: 4

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 3:29 am Post subject: Re: Does anyone know why? Reply with quote

I too have the same problem, but for me it isn't a problem. The important thing is that the game starts with the map! Very Happy


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in

Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
REZ325
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Site Admin
Staff
Moderator



Joined: Oct 08, 2008

Posts: 2126
Location: Harrisburg, PA
usa.gif


Reputation: 360.1Reputation: 360.1
votes: 14

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 7:15 am Post subject: Re: Does anyone know why? Reply with quote

TKSniper @ Wed Jul 01, 2009 4:23 am wrote:


Are ya going bonkers yet, Ray?  :P



Very much YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I had 5 years of "Stuff" jammed into my old PC, Its a real nightmare to transfer everything to the new one. I got about 85% successfully transfer, but the other 15% is driving me crazy! This is one of those things. If some one wanted to make some real money, they should invent software that transfers programs (complete) and other things from one PC to the next, I would buy it!


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TKSniper
Staff
Site Admin



Joined: Oct 08, 2008

Posts: 219

blank.gif


Reputation: 89.5Reputation: 89.5

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 1:34 pm Post subject: Re: Does anyone know why? Reply with quote

Count yourself lucky you got that much transfer without a hitch.  Some newer games will break completely, and have to be reinstalled. I manged to get most of my games moved with no problems.  Wink


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in

BIG GAME LODGE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Visit Evo-Install Today
outrider



Joined: Oct 08, 2008

Posts: 71
Location: fort worth tx.
usa.gif


Reputation: 62.1

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 11:34 am Post subject: Re: Does anyone know why? Reply with quote

when i used my old PC with XP, they were round circle with the triangle, with the new PC and vista their not.............................don't know if that helps............................


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
REZ325
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Site Admin
Staff
Moderator



Joined: Oct 08, 2008

Posts: 2126
Location: Harrisburg, PA
usa.gif


Reputation: 360.1Reputation: 360.1
votes: 14

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:53 pm Post subject: Re: Does anyone know why? Reply with quote

Well, today since the team hunt is over, I decided to fix my game. I did like some said an un-installed it then re-installed it. Now all is fine and correct. It turned out that I was missing over 200mb of data / info or what not. I started with the online download version (Biggest mistake out there) It was nothing but problems 3 years ago for me and continued to plague me again. I just totally wiped it off my PC and installed the disk! That's when I realized I was missing half the game. How it loaded & worked this past week is beyond me! Any way, all is good now. Thank you all for your suggestions & recommendations. Smile


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DeerKillers



Joined: Oct 09, 2008

Posts: 703
Location: Italy
italy.gif


Reputation: 133.5
votes: 4

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 2:04 pm Post subject: Re: Does anyone know why? Reply with quote

That's a great news ray! Smile


Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in

Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic  Reply to topic   printer-friendly view hagadoo.com Forum Index ->  Questions about computer problems All times are UTC - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2


 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum




Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2006 phpBB Group

DFG-Hunter Theme by DarkForge Graphics LLC ©
Forums ©

Spambot Killer
Site Map

[News Feed] [Forums Feed] [Downloads Feed] [Web Links Feed] Powered by HTML Purifier[Validate robots.txt]

WWW.HAGADOO.COM

PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2006 by Francisco Burzi.
All logos, trademarks and posts in this site are property of their respective owners, all the rest © 2006 by the site owner.
Powered by Nuke-Evolution.

This site is cached. Click here to update the cache.
[ Page Generation: 6048 Seconds | Memory Usage: 8.97 MB | DB Queries: 103 ]

Do Not Click